top of page

Celebrating Women Leaders: Winners of Inaugural WIM Tan Sri Datuk Napsiah Omar Award

Six women leaders won the inaugural Women’s Institute of Management (WIM) Tan Sri Datuk Napsiah Omar, Women Leaders Award, breaking the glass ceiling and achieving recognition in various fields of work and expertise.

The award is named in honour of the late Tan Sri Datuk Napsiah Omar, the former National Unity and Social Development Minister and founder of WIM and was created to recognise and acknowledge the great women leaders serving in various sectors in the different sectors of the country. This year’s award was presented by Raja Permaisuri of Perak Tuanku Zara Salim, who attended the event’s Gala Dinner as the Royal Guest of Honour.

The winners of this year’s event representing six categories are Universiti Malaya’s own Professor Datuk Dr Adeeba Kamarulzaman (Professor of Medicine & Infectious Diseases and our former dean of medicine), who won the education category, Dr Jasmine Begum (corporate management), Rina Neoh (entrepreneurship and business), Datuk Dr Narimah Khan (public service), Datuk Dr Hartini Zainudin (social and community service) and Ir. Prof. Dr Leong Wai Yie (technology).

We at the Faculty of Medicine, Universiti Malaya, would like to extend our most heartfelt congratulations to Prof. Dr Adeeba Kamarulzaman for winning the inaugural WIM Tan Sri Dato’ Napsiah Omar Women Leaders Award 2022 under the education category.

Thank you, Professor, for all your hard work and contributions to the university’s research and education and for helping to inspire a new generation of women leaders, igniting their spirits and encouraging them to move up the ladder and break the glass ceiling. We wish you all the best and to have a fruitful year.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page